Mysterious Warrior

Character:  Ruthanar
Class:  Guardian

Ruthanar is an enigma wrapped in a mystery, wrapped in a burrito (I can make fun of him, he’s mine!).  A warrior of the lands south and east of Eriador, he physically has the look of some of the shadowy men called Rangers, but he seems to hew to no particular band or code.  His armor has the look of a kit gained over time, a little bit here, a little bit there.

Ruthanar is dressed primarily in items bought from the LOTRO Store (What, you use your TP for stat tomes and slayer deed accelerators?  Huh.) and dyed olive, with additional pieces dyed red and umber.  Mad props to my fantastic friend Amimain, on whose (since re-rolled) character Jonathen I first saw the Hauberk of Rhûn/Traveler’s Hood combination.

What corner should I lurk in next?
/em glowers from within the shadows of his hood.

Or maybe…
/em stares at you with eyes that pierce your soul. Like a toothpick.

Even I, mysterious warrior, have no idea why there is a single green glove fluttering from the back of my otherwise super-awesome pack. If I bounce up and down really quickly, it looks like it’s waving.
EDIT: My dried-up goblin hand is even /more/ awesome. (Thank you, Ariel and Amimain!)

  • Head:  Traveler’s Hood (LOTRO Store purchase, dyed olive)
  • Shoulders:  Steel Shoulder Guards (Craftable, dyed red)
  • Back:  Sage’s Pack (LOTRO Store purchase)
  • Chest:  Hauberk of Rhûn (LOTRO Store purchase, dyed olive)
  • Hands:  Dwarf-make Bronze Gloves (Craftable, dyed umber)
  • Legs:  None!  (saucy!)
  • Feet:  Gwern-lhopan (Isengard instances drop, but commonly found in the AH, dyed umber)
5 thoughts on “Mysterious Warrior

  1. Love the outfit! One of the few green and red outfits I’ve seen that doesn’t look Christmas-y.

    It’s a joy to see a new LoTRO outfitting blog! CSTM posted the link on their Facebook page and I’ve been following you ever since. Your posts always get a laugh or two! Regarding that green glove… I think it’s actually supposed to be a severed goblin hand. Yeah.

    • Ew, goblin hand. I will have to amend my caption (but not by much! 😉 ). And thanks for visiting and following – I’m having a ball figuring all this stuff out and watching (stalking) interesting-looking folks on the by-ways of Middle-earth.

Leave a Reply

