Mud Gate Laborer

I’m a big fan of the Yule festival outfit sets, even though they bring top hats into a world where I, completely uneducated costume commentator, would find it odd to see a top hat.  (“I say, Frodo.  Pass the monocle so I can get a better look at this ring business.”)  I’m certainly fond of scarves and Yule cloaks.  I’ve waxed poetic about the lovely Frostbluff Robe/Dress of Thanks.

That said, my favorite pieces are actually the “Shabby” items.  As a roleplayer, I don’t always want to portray someone notable or wealthy or highborn.  I have the greatest respect for the Professor’s source material, and one of my takeaway messages from the Lord of the Rings is that the small and humble can achieve great ends.

So some days, this character heads off to the woods for a bit of chopping, trapping, hunting…whatever might bring a few coppers into his pocket.  Evenings, he meets up with mates for a pint; at night, he dreams of softer beds and warmer clothes.

Our man finds simple pleasures where he can.

He works hard for the money.

Some days are easier than others.

  • Head:  Shabby Cap (Yule festival quest reward)
  • Shoulders:  Yule Scarf (Yule festival barter reward, dyed olive)
  • Back:  Sturdy Woodcutter’s Pack (Available at the cosmetic item vendor in Stock in the Shire, and how the heck did I miss this yesterday?  Dyed rust)
  • Chest:  Herdsman’s Waistcoat and Shirt (Skirmish camp cosmetic vendor)
  • Hands:  Like many tunics and sets, the chest item somehow overrides all hand items.  Otherwise, he would have worn the Fingerless Gloves, also from the “Shabby” Yule quest reward set.
  • Legs:  Shabby Leggings (Yule festival quest reward)
  • Feet:  Boots of the Westfold (Rise of Isengard pre-order reward)
4 thoughts on “Mud Gate Laborer

  1. Love the Donna Summer reference! 😉

    I’m also a fan of shabby wear to for my more humble characters. I think I must be developing psychic powers, because in my post scheduled for tomorrow I talk about making an outfit for a “non-epic-looking” character. It’s also about patrolling the Greenway, like Freyjuska’s recent post! /tinfoilhat

  2. Laughed at the top-hat comments! Too true! My anachronism alarm goes off at so many of the outfits Turbine cooks up, which is pretty sad since Tolkien allows for a wide range of historic periods, but somehow they still manage to head into the ridiculous. But your Mud Gate laborer looks shabbily appropriate!

Leave a Reply

