Dress It Up: Yellow

Here are the basic “Dress It Up” rules:  Dress it up however you like, on either gender, any race, in any fashion, and leave a comment with a link to your outfit, whether it’s on your own blog or in one of the many photo hosting sites.

This is a really broad category, and I hope a bunch of you post links to outfits you’ve done that meet the criteria.  What criteria?  Yellow.  For in-game purposes, I mean outfits with a predominant dye shade of “yellow” or “gold,” though I’m pretty sure most of you don’t utilize the “yellow” dye.

The reason I chose yellow as an overall theme is that it is my least favorite color.  Least.  Totally least.  It makes me look awful, and I only really like it as sunshine and as a really bright, bold, splash of gold.  Butter yellow…blech.  Pastel?  Yech.

So prove me wrong!  Show me awesome!  The best use of yellow I’ve posted here so far is the Seen on the Streets of my friend Aminah (scroll down a ways).  She is the only character I’ve ever seen that makes the Big Bird “yellow” dye look good.

I have my eyes closed because I usually wear burgundy and am slinky and dangerous, but the BLOGGER put me in pale gold, and EW.
Also, how YOU doin?

So, what do you think?  Yellow fan?  Gold fan?  Show me!

8 thoughts on “Dress It Up: Yellow

  1. I think our friend Starry Mantle is a big fan of yellow, and she calls it “chartreuse”, which makes it sound like something you actually really really wanna have if you want to look classy. I think the Elf Queen’s dress looks classy in yellow indeed, but most items in yellow are simply “affreuse”.

      • You’ve made a little hobbit who’s very favorite outfit is yellow very happy. /off to take pictures when the light is good in Great River/

  2. Yellow! If it was a nice, warm yellow it could be nice. But I agree, the yellow dye is not a friendly dye.

    I do have a yellow outfit coming up, probably on Tuesday (especially now, in light of your yellow post) and I found it a very challenging color to work with. Perhaps the first and last time I use it. Perhaps not.
    😉

  3. Haha, yes I do have a fondness for yellow dye! I think it has it’s uses. Two specific uses in fact, and these are when the item you’re dying has either a pure white base colour or a green-tinted base colour. When the base colour is white, you get a nice cheerful bright yellow; when the base colour is green-tinted you get (my favourite) a chartreuse colour. I like combining it with gold and ranger green to get a uniform look, as an example: http://starrymantle.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/an-unexpected-hero/

  4. Heh, yellow is my least favorite color too, mostly because I think it usually looks the same shade as pee (pardon my ugly word:P). Still I used to have an outfit in yellow, but sadly I’ve deleted it, and same with the one screenshot I had of it:(. If I remember correctly, it was one of those “shirt and pants”-cosmetics.

Leave a Reply

