Friday Poll: Apparel Dummies

This is a short and sweet one.  I’m undecided on whether or not I’ll ever use apparel dummies:  I think the concept is interesting, I wish the separates sold as separates, since some pieces are rare and some not-so-much, and I find it odd to see sparkly scarecrows in some of the more remote corners of the world.  That said, I’m not offended when reminders of the store pop up in-game, either as objects like the apparel dummies or reminders in the UI.  If those very few small reminders get the game all the way to Gondor (and beyond?), I’m okay with that.

If you’re unsure what I’m talking about, the awesome Hymne of Cosmetic Lotro has a great post here.

To sum up my feelings about the apparel dummies:  I think the era of huge, subscription-based MMOs (excepting WoW) is pretty much fading.  Free-to-play isn’t going anywhere, and while I hope games keep their advertising subtle, I think the apparel dummies are kind of nifty when they’re placed next to vendors in market centers.

4 thoughts on “Friday Poll: Apparel Dummies

  1. I feel like apparel dummies would be alright if they were in appropriate locations, like /inside/ a shop. I have a hard time running through Tinnudir, wondering why the rangers are trying to sell pretty dresses or eye patches. I mean, I guess they need funding for rangery things, but that’s a little much. It’s especially weird in some of the more remote places like, Aughaire and I think there was one in Thorenhad. That just strikes me as bizarre.

    The bright sparkles around them don’t help either. <_<

  2. For me if the dummies were limited to more reasonable environments (like near existing outfitters and market areas) and outfits were carefully crafted to be appropriate their locations, it would be a huge improvement. For example, the Michel Delving dummies would be inside the MD vendor hall and there would be a male hobbit dummy and a female hobbit dummy advertising hobbity outfits.

    I also think just splatting a bunch of stuff already available in the store onto dummies is not really interesting; none of the current dummies are showing anything very interesting as far as outfitting goes, they’re either just matched sets or assorted store items.

    What would be interesting are thoughtfully considered, put-together, appropriate outfits. Some of the pieces might be regularly available in-Store, some might not. If you like an outfit you might be able to put it together yourself, or for convenience buy the complete package via the dummy. What would be even cooler would be if the Fashion Maven was out and about selecting outfits “seen on the streets” to feature on the dummies, or selecting them from the “show us your outfit” thread on the forums.

    Sorry for the ultra-long reply! My thoughts on this have been sort of slowly coalescing. Oh yeah, I voted “other”. 😛

  3. I didn’t mind them much at first, but they’ve been grating on me slowly. I think it’s the sparkles and the odd locations. They feel so out of place, glowing in the dark in Moria. I think if they didn’t sparkly and had more location-appropriate outfits, I wouldn’t mind as much. They should enlist cosmetic bloggers to design better outfits, ha.

  4. I agree with most of what’s already been said. I don’t mind them taking me to the store and I don’t mind them in vendor areas, but it is weird to see them in Angmar and Galtrev. I would also like it if they were a bit different in every place: hobbit outfits in MD, dwarven in TH, ect.

    I would love to have one for my own house that I could use as an armor stand.

Leave a Reply

