Title Week: Foe of Night

Happy Title Week!  The awesome Ivy of The Ivy and I are interpreting in-game titles every day this week, so be sure to check her blog to see what she’s doing!

Today, we’re both fiddling with “Foe of Night,” a slayer deed in the North Downs.   The hero who attains this title has, as the deed text says, “returned many of [the Dead] to the peace of the grave.”  Of all the titles Ivy and I will explore this week, this is the one most connected (in my opinion, at least) to LotR lore, and so I wanted to create something really special.

The piece I chose for inspiration was, of all things, a Moria light armour barter item, the Hat of the Stone-student.  It’s just so medieval-looking, so serene and lovely, and it gave my chosen model a sort of gravity that suited the deed.  Dyed gold, it reminded me of warm climates and sunshine, and so that’s where I began.

This all led me down an ornate path of gold and mail (with the chestpiece Saets-crus heavily featured), and I’m actually really pleased.

I’m a total fan of this headpiece, especially since it’s a combination of circlet and wimple.

I chose not to add a cloak so you could see the rear of the chestpiece with ease. It’s one of my favorites in the game. Identical models can be found as Dunland quest rewards and (she says, 75% sure) a reputation reward in Galtrev.

Tomorrow, we get to do the awesome Servant of Process title.  Go check out Ivy!

2 thoughts on “Title Week: Foe of Night

  1. Hey, this is a neat series, and I’m looking forward to seeing the rest of it!

    I like the templar look you got from the head piece and the chest piece. There’s a chainmail coif cosmetic that people like to use, but I think this Hat of the Stone-student fits best with the chest piece you chose.

  2. I’m also a huge fan of the Hat of the Stone-student. I use it maybe even too often in my outfits 🙂 I’m not that big fan of Saets-crus, especially on female characters. you made it look decent though, I like it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

